My room is a mess / Fear paralysis

My mother will probably not be surprised by the first part of the title.

Recently though my workshop hasn’t just been a normal mess. It has been the kind of mess that you can’t do very much about because there is less space to put things than there are things. So I decided to do something about it. Build some shelves.

I had acquired some extra equipment in the course of working on an exciting new project. Namely a Roland MDX-20 small desktop milling machine and some vacuum casting equipment. So I was going to build some rolling shelves to house this equipment along with more storage boxes.

This brings me to the second part of the title. I was too scared to do it, and kept putting it off.

It wasn’t fear because I do not have the skills. I am in fact an extremely below average welder. Or to put it another way, I am a much better welder than most people that knock something up and proudly show it to their cringing relatives.

p1010513

I was scared I would make the design sub optimal. What if I make it too big. What if I make it too small. What if make the shelves to fit a small box and in the end I needed to store a large box.

As the sketch below shows, I had very early on the in the process made what I think is a good decision. The left hand side of the page shows a rolling shelf for the Roland and a separate one for the casting equipment. I quickly realised that the reason I was doing rolling shelves is that floor space is at a premium. Why not make one tall shelf for both as shown on the bottom right of the page.

paralysed

Then the fear had new fertile grounds. What if I make it too tall.

This fear paralysis is only something that I have started to experience in the last few years. In the end it is pretty silly because I am quite happy with how the shelves turned out.

There is an enclosed area for the Roland to help keep the dust in. This will eventually have a clear perspex door.

p1010518

The vacuum chamber and pump fit nicely. They also have a false shelve a few mm above them so that area can be used for putting things when they are not in use.

In fact the only thing I do not like about the rolling shelf is the wheels. I knew from the outset the wheels were inadequate, but they are only a temporary measure till I find some better ones.

Now I just need to work on that fear that is stopping me getting things done.

Leave a Reply

