Gay Sex Videos

Or you prefer regular titles rather than traffic generating click bait titles

The things you learn about China

As I sit here waiting for my cables to arrive from China, I have been looking back over the adventures of trawling through Alibaba many months ago finding a cable supplier.  One of the more confusing things I found was this posting

Apparently that TRRS cable is better for “Gay Sex Videos” than some other companies cable.  There I was thinking that marketing departments were getting really specific when they made ibuprofen just for tension headaches or “facial tissues”.

The really disturbing thing I found looking at all the cable suppliers was however one acronym.

CCS – Copper Coated/Coloured Steel

Now, when I made my very first Uzebox DTV, I gained some experience with this.  I bought a TRRS cable from one of Australias biggest electronics retailers.  When plugged in this cable the AVR kept resetting.  The Uzebox worked with the first cable I borrowed from a Panasonic video camera, but this second cable didn’t work.

It was a head scratching moment till I got out a multimeter and measured the resistance of the cable.  14 ohms in 1.8 meters.  That might be acceptable for carrying an AV signal, but the DTV puts the power down the red plug.  14 Ohms * 50mA = 0.7v.  Pretty marginal for a 4.3v brownout level on the AVR.

I got out a pair of cutters and started investigating.  The cable inside LOOKED like copper.  It certainly didn’t feel like copper though.  It definitely didn’t have the same resistance as copper.

At first when I saw vendors on Alibaba offering cables made from CCS I didn’t know what it was.  More trawling of suppliers led to to a few that had “Copper Coated Steel” as their material of choice.  It all made sense now.

If you happen to be a large electronics retailer and  0.70USD for a copper cable does not give you enough margin on $16 retail price, you can opt for the cheaper steel option for 0.40USD.

There are also options if having braided shielding on the cables sounds too up market.  You can opt for the cheapest vendors and they will give you two parallel wires inside a large round PVC jacket.  It looks just just like shielded cable from the outside but with none of the added benefits of shielding like – well shielding.

In the end the vendor I found made me cables made out of actual copper, that had shielding on the outside, and were 26 AWG.  All that quality only ended up costing me about 8x more than the rock bottom priced cables.  Or if I was buying 5000 units rather than the 100, then it would only cost 1.20USD which is 3x the 0.40USD of the crappiest cables available.

BTW – after showing the “Gay Sex Video” URL to people I know, the best comment I have gotten so far was

“Haha the random things you find when searching. How funny that RCA cables turned up.” – Michael-M

Post below if you’ve got a better one.

 

Leave a Reply

